The Child Pedestrian Safety Curriculum was developed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and adopted by Focus Cycling Club to teach and encourage practice in safe pedestrian and cycling behaviors for students at the elementary level (grades kindergarten through fifth). It is organized into ten lessons that target the main areas of pedestrian and cycling safety:


  • Walking near traffic

  • Crossing streets

  • Crossing intersections

  • Parking lot safety

  • School bus stop and school bus safety

  • Helmet basicsHel

  • Bicycle safety

  • Bicycle riding with friends

  • Bicycle safety clinics

  • Bycling near traffic

Each lesson builds upon each previous set of skills learned. 

All grades receive instruction in the five areas of pedestrian and cycling safety mentioned above. However, to promote developmentally appropriate teaching, the curriculum includes three divisions: kindergarten and first grade, second and third grade, and fourth and fifth grade. The lessons build in difficulty throughout subsequent years, require greater problem-solving opportunities, and encourage peer modeling and discussion. 

The overall goal of the Child Pedestrian Safety Curriculum is one of skill development. While children may be aware of ways to stay safe as pedestrians, the purpose of this program is to help children develop that knowledge into an automatic response in behavior.

Miami, FL, USA


Follow us on

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon


@2019 focuscyclingclub